Awards and Honors

Selected awards & honors

Judge, Richard J. Margolis Award for social justice journalism & essay  2014 – present

Judge, Nine Dots Prize  Oct. 2016 – Oct. 2017

Clarion Award for Best Newspaper Feature Story, 2010

Board of Directors, Journalism & Women Symposium (JAWS), 2010-2012

Clarion Award, Best Magazine Feature Article, 2009

Casey Medals for Meritorious Journalism — Honorable Mention, Magazine Reporting, 2009

Peter Jennings Journalist Fellow, National Constitution Center, 2009

Sigma Delta Chi Award, Society of Professional Journalists, Best in Magazine Investigative Reporting, 2008

James Aronson Award for Social Justice Journalism, 2008

Clarion Award, Best Magazine Feature Article, 2008

Special Honor for Excellence in Reporting on the Media, Council on Contemporary Families, 2008

Dorothy Tavris Travel Grant, Brandeis Women’s Studies Research Center, 2005-2006 

Judge, Astraea Foundation Emerging Writers Award, 2005 

Dorothy Tavris Travel Grant, Brandeis Women’s Studies Research Center, 2004-2005

Judge, Publishing Triangle Awards for nonfiction, 2003

Liberal Arts Fellow in Law and Journalism, Harvard Law School, 2000-2001

The Nation Institute Investigative Fund Research Award Grant, 2001

Board of Directors, New Words Live/Center for New Words, 1999-2004

Affiliated Scholar, Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe College, 1998-1999

Judge, Astraea Foundation Emerging Writers Award, 1998

Visiting Scholar, Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe College, 1997-1998

Richard J. Margolis Award for political essay and journalist, 1996

Astraea Foundation Emerging Writers Award, 1993